Monthly Thought

Someone once said to me about my ability to demonstrate a high level of proficiency in both English and Chinese languages, of which I had taken no advantage, sadly. Until recently, I have finally come to the realisation of my years of procrastination, with remorse. But thanks to the optimism so entrenched in my spirit, I have never been so resolute to embark on a journey that is going to change my life, my aura and my character (at least that is what I believe). I am going to READ, more than I could ever imagine, and to write. And until I have searched that particular genre or genres of books that allow me to read in pure rapture, I will be borrowing from the library instead of buying.

I am currently reading two books: This side of Paradise & The Beautiful and Damned by Scott Fitzgerald and Meditation by Marcus Aurelius.

Frankly, I don’t find the former is captivating. The excessive use of Amercian college jargons baffled me. However, as i have only read less than one-third of the book, so, I will sit out hoping that one day my opinion would change and read the book with immense satisfaction.

The other night, I watched Jane Eyre again. To my surprise, the film that I once found dull has recaptured my mind. This time, I can fully resonate with Jane as if I shared the misfortune in her life. Jane Eyre sparked my contemplation of a question………

““Do you ever laugh, Miss Eyre? Don’t trouble yourself to answer- I see, you laugh rarely; but you can laugh very merrily; believe me, you are not naturally austere, any more than I am naturally vicious. The Lowood constraint still clings to you somewhat; controlling your features, muffling your voice, and restricting your limbs…I see, at intervals, the glance of a curious sort of bird through the close-set bars of the cage; a vivid, restless, resolute captive is there; were it but free, it would soar cloud-high.”

Leave a Reply

